WI vs PNG: West Indies will bowl first, while Papua New Guinea boasts a lineup full of all-rounders. Here are the playing XIs for both teams.


WI vs PNG: West Indies won the toss and chose to bowl first in the match against Papua New Guinea. The team is full of power hitters.

WI vs PNG: West Indies won the toss and decided to bowl first. Captain Rovman Powell has expressed hope that it will be easy for them to chase at Providence ground in Guyana. Powell has said that 2 all-rounders and 3 spin bowlers are playing in his team. On the other hand, Papua New Guinea captain Asadullah Vala has said that his team will also enter the field with many all-rounders. This will be the first match of both the teams in T20 World Cup 2024. Let us tell you that West Indies has been the T20 World Champion twice.

West Indies is in great form

West Indies has been performing brilliantly under the captaincy of Rovman Powell. Recently, West Indies clean-swept South Africa in the 3 T20 match series. They defeated Australia by 6 wickets in the warm-up match. They have many power hitters in the form of Andre Russell, Johnson Charles, Captain Powell, and Nicholas Pooran. Although West Indies is the host of this World Cup and has been the World Champion twice, this team has become a victim of upsets many times. Although Papua New Guinea seems to be a weak team in terms of experience and paper records, reaching here from the qualifiers shows that the Papua New Guinea team has entered the field with full preparation.

Papua New Guinea has also performed brilliantly

Papua New Guinea was seen playing in the T20 World Cup 2021, but the team could not reach the Super-12 stage. The team has played 18 T20 matches in the last 2 years, in which it has won 14 matches. After the toss, team captain Assad Wala said that the rain in the last 2 days could be helpful for the UK as many all-rounders are playing in his team.

West Indies Playing XI: Johnson Charles, Brandon King, Roston Chase, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Rovman Powell (captain), Andre Russell, Romario Shepherd, Sherfan Rutherford, Akeel Hussain, Alzari Joseph, Gudakesh Motie

Papua New Guinea's playing XI: Tony Ura, Sese Bau, Asadollah Vala (captain), Lega Siaka, Hiri Hiri, Charles Amini, Kiplin Doriga, Ali Nao, Chad Soper, Kabua Morea, John Kariko