Rahul Dravid took this big decision while leaving Team India, sacrificed 2.5 crores, the reason will win your heart


Former head coach of Team India, Rahul Dravid has won the hearts of cricket fans with his big decision. He has sacrificed Rs 2.5 crore for his support staff.

Rahul Dravid sacrificed Rs 2.5 crore. (Photo: PTI)

After the historic victory of T20 World Cup 2024, the Board of Control for Cricket in India had announced a prize money of Rs 125 crore for Team India. This prize money is to be divided among the players and 42 members of the coaching staff. According to reports, all 15 players of the team and coach Rahul Dravid will get Rs 5 crore each. At the same time, the rest of the members of the coaching staff will be given Rs 2.5 crore each. But amidst all this, Rahul Dravid has taken a big decision which has won everyone's heart.

One decision of Rahul Dravid won everyone's heart

Rahul Dravid has decided to give up half of the prize money he gets from the Board of Control for Cricket in India. According to a Hindustan Times report, Dravid wants the same prize money as the rest of his coaching staff, due to which he has decided to give up half of the Rs 5 crore, i.e. Rs 2.5 crore. He will now take Rs 2.5 crore like the rest of the coaching staff.

A similar decision was taken in 2018 as well

In 2018, India won the Under 19 World Cup. Then the BCCI had decided to give Rs 30 lakh each to the players, Rs 50 lakh to Dravid and Rs 20 lakh each to the support staff. But then Dravid refused to take Rs 50 lakh. After this, the BCCI gave Rs 25 lakh each to the support staff including Rahul Dravid.

This was Dravid's journey with Team India

Rahul Dravid was made the coach of Team India in 2021. Dravid was the director of the National Cricket Academy till then and used to coach the Under-19 team. Team India's performance during Rahul Dravid's tenure has been excellent. Team India finished number one in all three formats, played till the finals of the ODI World Cup and Test Championship and also ended the thirst for ICC trophies by winning the T20 World Cup trophy.