Para Shuttler Award: Pramod nominated along with five others for Best Para Shuttler Award


In para badminton, India's Pramod Bhagat is among the six players who have been named the 'Best Para Badminton Player of the Year' by the global body.


Reigning world champion Bhagat, who won a historic gold medal in the men's singles SL3 class at the Tokyo Paralympics in September, has been included along with Manoj Sarkar along with five other nominees for the best para badminton pair of the year award. Sarkar won a bronze medal in the men's singles SL3 class of the Tokyo Olympics.

Got polio at the age of four
Thirty-three-year-old Bhagat contracted polio at the age of four and had come to the sport after watching his neighbor play. Initially they competed with capable players. Bhagat is currently the world number one and Asian champion in SL3.


Among the non-par players Viktor Axelsen and Anders Antonsen of Denmark, Wang Yi Liu of China and Yuta Watanabe of Japan were nominated for Player of the Year.

In the women's singles category, Tokyo Olympic champion Chen Yu Fei of China, Carolina Marin of Spain, Tai Tzu Ying of Taipei and Akane Yamaguchi of Japan have been nominated for the women's player of the year.