ON This Day: The final of the ICC Trophy was 110 overs instead of 100! but the result did not come

ON This Day: The final of the Champions Trophy lasted for 2 days, but the result did not come. (AFP)
On This Day: ICC Champions Trophy 2002 final (Champions Trophy 2002) is still remembered by Indian fans. Sri Lanka batted 100 overs in the final. But the match could not be held due to rain. Finally, on 30 September, both India and Sri Lanka were declared joint winners.

New Delhi. The fans of Team India remember very well today i.e. 30th September. The Champions Trophy 2002 final on 30 September 2002 could not be completed even in 2 days due to rain. 110.4 overs were bowled in the match. But the result of the match could not come out due to the special rules of the ICC. Due to this both India and Sri Lanka were declared joint winners. Only once in the history of the Champions Trophy, so far 2 teams have become joint champions.

ON This Day: The final of the Champions Trophy lasted for 2 days, but the result did not come. (AFP)

The Champions Trophy was held in Sri Lanka. A total of 12 teams had entered the tournament. Team India defeated South Africa in the semi-finals while Sri Lanka defeated Australia. The final match was to be held on 29 September. Batting first, Sri Lanka scored 244 runs in the stipulated 50 overs at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Captain Sanath Jayasuriya scored 74 and Kumar Sangakkara scored 54 runs. Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh took 3 wickets for 27 runs. In reply, India had scored 14 runs in 2 overs without a wicket. After this, the match could not be played due to rain.

The match started anew the next day

According to ICC rules, the final match was started afresh on 30 September Reserve Day. Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat once again. This time Jayasuriya and Sangakkara failed. Mahela Jayawardene scored 74 and Russell Arnold scored 56 not out. Left-arm fast bowler Zaheer Khan took 3 wickets for 44 runs. In response, Team India scored 38 runs for one wicket in 8.4 overs till the game was stopped due to rain. Dinesh Mogiya got out for zero. Virender Sehwag remained unbeaten on 25 and Sachin Tendulkar scored 7 runs. In this way, a total of 110.4 overs was played in the final of two days, but the result did not come. Usually, an ODI match is of 100 overs.

India and Australia became champions 2-2 times

ICC started the Champions Trophy in 1998. In the first season held in Bangladesh, the team of South Africa became the champion. The team defeated West Indies in the final. So far there have been a total of 8 seasons of the tournament. India and Australia have won the title twice each. Apart from this, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and West Indies also won the title once each. The tournament was postponed since 2017. But the ICC has decided to reinstate it. The next 2 seasons are to be held in 2025 and 2029.