IPL 2022: CSK signs Dhoni for the next three seasons, KL Rahul can lead Lucknow!


Ahead of the mega auction in January 2022, defending Indian Premier League (IPL) champions Chennai Super Kings have decided to retain their captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni for the next three seasons of the T20 league. Apart from Dhoni, the franchise has retained all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and opener Ruturaj Gaikwad, who was instrumental in CSK winning the 2021 IPL title. As per BCCI rules, each team is allowed to retain a maximum of four players and four-time champions are in talks with England all-rounder Moeen Ali to come on board.

A report in the Indian Express stated that Ali could be a useful player on the slow and turning track at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai, however, if he does not agree to stay, CSK may call on another England cricketer, Sam Curran, as their own. Will retain as the fourth player.

Earlier, Dhoni himself had confirmed that his last T20 match will be in Chennai. Dhoni had recently said at a CSK event, “I have always planned my cricket. My last ODI in India was in Ranchi. Hopefully, my last T20 will be in Chennai. Whether it will be next year or in five years, I don't know. ,
Notably, the franchises will have to submit their list of retained players by November 30 and there will be a mega auction after which two new teams will join the league from the 2022 season. Meanwhile, Delhi Capitals have decided to retain wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant, all-rounder Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, and pacer Enrique Nortje. As per reports, Shreyas Iyer wanted to lead DC, but the franchise wanted to pursue Pant as their leader, so the right-handed batsman decided to move on.


It is also learned that Mumbai Indians will retain Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ishan Kishan and they are also in talks with West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard. Five-time champion Suryakumar doesn't want to let Yadav go either and is planning to buy him from the auction pool.