Do or die match between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka for Super-4 in Asia Cup today in Pakistan!


To strengthen their claim for the Asia Cup Super Four, Afghanistan would like to win this match by giving their best bowling performance against Sri Lanka. After losing to Bangladesh, it is a do-or-die match for Afghanistan. They will have to win by a big margin to finish in the top two in Group B to super-qualify.

After the defeat on Sunday night, Afghanistan's run rate is negative while Sri Lanka's run rate, which defeated Bangladesh in the first match, is positive at 0.951. After scoring more than 300 runs against Afghanistan, Bangladesh's run rate has improved a lot and it is almost certain that it will go to the Super Four. This second match will be played at Gaddafi Stadium in Pakistan.


In the absence of fast bowlers, Afghanistan's bowling will depend on spinners Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Zadran. Rashid could not get a single wicket and his team would expect a better performance from him against Sri Lanka. The form of openers Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Ibrahim Zadran is a good sign for Afghanistan.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka will hope that their top order, which failed against Bangladesh, scores runs quickly. In the absence of three injured fast bowlers, young Mathisha Pathirana took four wickets in the first match and would like to repeat that performance once again. Pathirana, who handled the new ball against Bangladesh, can be given this responsibility again.

Afghan captain Hashmatullah Shahidi had said after Sunday's defeat, "We have to improve in all departments." Our bowling was not good and neither was the fielding. Lahore is near our country so our fans will be waiting for it. Hopefully, they will come to cheer us in the next match.


Afghanistan: Hashmatullah Shahidi (Captain), Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhil, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Riaz Hasan, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Mohammad Nabi, Rahmat Shah, Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Abdul Rehman, Fazalhaq Farooqui, Mohammad Salim, Mujeeb ur Rehman, Noor Ahmed.

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (vice-captain), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjay de Silva, Sadira Samarawickrama, Mahish Tikshina, Dunith Velange, Mathisha Pathirana, Kasun Rajeetha, Dushan Hemanta, Binura. Fernando, Pramod Madushan.