Confusion Galore: IND vs AFG Why was Rohit Sharma allowed to bat in the second Super Over after retiring hurt in the third T20I?
The third T20 match between India and Afghanistan was no less than a thrill. The match ended in a draw, following which a super over was resorted to, which also resulted in a tie. This led to a second Super Over, but the real confusion arose when Afghanistan complained to the umpires for not allowing Rohit Sharma to bat again.
Rohit Sharma retired out and sent Rinku Singh so he can run faster.— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) January 17, 2024
What a move. 🤣🔥 pic.twitter.com/p8hKBa0Lzf
However, Rohit Sharma used his quick thinking to retire himself, giving Rinku Singh a chance to take his place and take the last 2 runs. Yashasvi also contributed by scoring one run, due to which the game went into the second super over. According to the rules, the Super Over must continue until the winner is determined.
I don't think Rohit Sharma should have been allowed to bat again in the Super Over. This is a grey area in the playing conditions which needs to be addressed.— Mazher Arshad (@MazherArshad) January 17, 2024
The rule is: Any batter dismissed in any previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bat in any subsequent Super Over.…
Interestingly, Rohit Sharma once again came out to bat. The Afghan team protested and argued that Rohit had already been retired in the previous Super Over. However, as per the rules of the game, Rohit was allowed to bat again as he was not out.
After this, Rohit displayed his skills by hitting a six and a four, taking India's score to 11 runs. Ultimately, Ravi Bishnoi sealed India's victory in this thrilling encounter by taking 2 wickets in just 3 balls during the second Super Over.