T20 World Cup Squad: Pakistan announces its team, will make its debut against India on 23 October


Pakistan's selectors have announced a 15-man squad led by Babar Azam for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 to be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

Fast bowler Shaheen Afridi returned to the team after being ruled out of the Asia Cup due to a knee injury. Along with Shaheen, Mohammad Wasim Jr. has also returned to the T20 setup after recovering from his side strain, and Shan Masood has been picked for the white-ball format for the first time.

"We are getting encouraging news about Shaheen Shah Afridi, who is likely to resume bowling early next month," chief selector Muhammad Wasim said.


Fakhar Zaman and Shahnawaz Dahani, who were part of the Asia Cup squad, have been kept as reserve players but have not been included in the main squad. Hasan Ali, named as the replacement after several injuries in the bowling department, has been dropped from the squad.

Muhammad Wasim said, "We have a team that can perform strongly in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022. So we have shown faith and confidence in almost the same players who have been part of the T20I squad after the 2021 World Cup.

"We need to ensure consistency and support to these players, and that's exactly what we did."

Pakistan will begin its campaign against arch-rivals India on October 23 at the MCG, whose tickets have been sold according to the ICC.

Pakistan, along with India, Bangladesh, and South Africa, is placed in Group 2 of the Super 12 and will see two more teams from the first round.


Pakistan squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Babar Azam (Captain), Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, and Usman Qadir.

Reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani