Rohit Sharma becomes India's second most successful T20I captain, leaving Virat Kohli behind in this matter!


Taking over the captaincy from Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma continues to be a juggler, winning win after win in the shortest format. Suryakumar Yadav and Kohli stole the limelight as India completed a stunning 40-run victory over Hong Kong in the 2022 Asia Cup. But, with the win, Rohit also earned a new record.

Rohit, who only became India's full-time T20 captain after last year's T20 World Cup, is now India's second most successful captain in the format. The win against Hong Kong was Rohit's 31st win in the shortest format, surpassing Kohli, who had a total of 30 T20I wins as captain.

MS Dhoni is the only captain who is ahead of Rohit in the number of wins as India's T20I captain. Dhoni sits on 41 T20I wins as captain in 72 matches. Kohli, on the other hand, had played 50 matches to reach the 30-win milestone.

It is worth noting that Rohit's 31 wins as captain has come in only 37 matches.