On this day in 2007: On this day, Pakistan was bowled out by India in the first T20 World Cup, watch the video!


In the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, Team India faced Pakistan in their first group-stage match at Kingsmead, Durban. It was on this day in 2007 that the MS Dhoni-led team defeated Pakistan by a ball-out in the match.

At the time, when a match used to be a tie, the concept of a Super Over was not implemented as today, and thus a ball-out was used to determine the winner of the competition.

It was an incredible turnaround, as Pakistan, renowned for their bowling, failed to remove the bails in any of their three attempts, while Team India removed the stumps in all three attempts in a 3-0 win.

For India, Harbhajan Singh, Virender Sehwag, and Robin Uthappa managed to hit the stumps while Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, and Yasir Arafat all missed the stumps.

In the normal match, MS Dhoni-led India batted first and was able to post a total of 141/9 in the stipulated twenty overs.

Robin Uthappa and MS Dhoni performed brilliantly with the bat, scoring 50 and 33 runs respectively. Mohammad Asif took four wickets for Pakistan.

Irfan Pathan took two wickets for India. This was the first time that MS Dhoni was leading India and he eventually led India to a T20 World Cup victory in 2007.

India once again faced Pakistan in the final and emerged victorious by five runs in the Men in the Blue final, which was played at Wanderers, Johannesburg.