IND vs WI: Why was Avesh Khan given the last over instead of Bhuvneshwar Kumar? Rohit Sharma explained the reason!


India's winning streak on the West Indies tour came to a halt as the hosts thrashed the Rohit Sharma-led side by 5 wickets in the second T20I. With six wickets by Obed McCoy, the Indian team was bowled out for 138.


West Indies needed 16 runs in the last two overs when Rohit Sharma handed the ball to young Arshdeep Singh. The left-arm pacer bowled a brilliant over, conceding only six runs and taking the crucial wicket of Rovman Powell. Most people expected that Rohit would pick Bhuvneshwar Kumar (who had 2 overs to spare) for the final over of the match but the India captain gave over to an inexperienced Avesh Khan.

His decision did not yield results as expected as Avesh Khan conceded 12 runs in the first two balls. In the post-match press conference, when Rohit was asked about this decision, he explained the reasoning.

He said- "First of all, the team didn't have enough runs. We didn't bat well. The pitch was good but we didn't play well. But it can happen. When you are doing something as a batting group, then You may not always be successful. But we will learn from it. It is about giving opportunities to these people. We know what Bhuvi does for us; he has been doing it for years".


Rohit further said, 'We know Bhuvneshwar has done this for us and he has saved the match, but unless you give such overs to Avesh or Arshdeep Singh, how will you know? But it was just a match. All these bowlers have skills and talent, but it is important that you back them. I am proud of my team and bowlers. Such a target can be chased in 13-14 overs, but we dragged the match till the last over. I am very happy with the bowlers, and the way they executed the plan.

Team India was all out for just 138 runs in this match. But the bowlers kept Team India in the match till the last. Avesh Khan started the last over with a no-ball. Devon Smith then hit a six and four to give the Caribbean team their first win on this tour against India.