IND vs WI: Today Indian team will match this record


The first match of the three-match ODI series between India and the West Indies will be played in Port of Spain today. Shikhar Dhawan will captain the Indian team in this series. With Shikhar Dhawan coming to the toss in the field today, the Indian team will equal an uncharted record. 


With Shikhar Dhawan going to the toss, he will become the seventh cricketer to captain Team India in a calendar year. In this case, India will equal Sri Lanka's record. Earlier in 2017, seven cricketers captained the team for Sri Lanka in a calendar year. 

Virat Kohli captained the Indian team at the beginning of this calendar year. KL Rahul also got a chance to captain the Indian team on this tour. Later, regular captain, Rohit Sharma captained the Indian team against the Windies and Sri Lanka in February-March. 

Rishabh Pant captained the 5-match T20 series against South Africa. Hardik Pandya got a chance to be captain in the T20 series against Ireland. 


After this, the captaincy of the Indian team came into the hands of Jasprit Bumrah in the Test match against England. Shikhar Dhawan will now captain the Indian team in the three-match ODI series against West Indies.