Travel Tips: Do not make plans to go to Delhi this week, everything from malls to streets will remain closed, Know why!


PC: navbharattimes

A lockdown is going to happen soon in India's capital Delhi. However, this lockdown is not related to COVID-19 but due to the upcoming G-20 summit, which will be held in Delhi. As a result, Delhi will remain closed from now till September 8, with no schools, colleges, offices, or markets opening during this period. Even the shops in the neighborhood have been ordered to remain closed by the Kejriwal government. If you are a resident of Delhi, what to expect in the coming three days – what will remain open and what will remain completely closed.

Why this decision was taken: 19 world leaders and heads of state of the European Union will participate in the G-20 summit. Strict security measures have been taken to ensure their safety. To avoid traffic congestion, some restrictions have been imposed which are similar to lockdowns.

Metro services will continue: During these three days, only essential vehicles will be allowed to operate in the Delhi region. The entry of goods carriers will be restricted during the summit. This decision has been taken to prevent traffic jams and the metro is expected to be the best mode of transport during this time. However, some Metro stations may remain closed, including the Supreme Court, Khan Market, Mandi House, and Central Secretariat stations. Airports, railway stations, and bus terminals may also face route diversions.

Banks and malls closed: All banks, shops, and malls in New Delhi have been ordered to remain closed. Essential shops like grocery, dairy, vegetable, and medical shops will not face any restrictions.

Some offices may opt for work from home: As per reports, some schools and colleges may shift to online mode during this period. Additionally, some offices may allow employees to work from home till September 8.

Countries participating in G-20: Argentina, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Brazil, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, South Africa, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union. 

List of guest countries: The guest countries invited to the G-20 summit include Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain, Egypt, Mauritius, and the United Arab Emirates. Apart from international organizations like the UN, IMF, World Bank, WTO, ILO, FSB, and OECD, Indian representatives from ISAE, CDRAI, and ADB have also been invited as guests.