Lok Sabha Election 2024: The fate of 11 cabinet ministers of the Modi government will be decided in the first phase, see the list


pc: abplive

The first phase of voting for the Lok Sabha elections 2024 started today on Friday (April 19). In this phase, voting is taking place on 102 seats in 21 states and union territories, where members of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet are also contesting. The public will decide their fate by casting their votes through Electronic Voting Machine (EVM).

In this initial phase, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Assam, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Jammu and Voting is taking place in the states and union territories of Kashmir, Lakshadweep and Puducherry.

Prominent ministers contesting elections in the first phase

Nitin Gadkari

Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari is contesting from Nagpur Lok Sabha constituency of Maharashtra. Gadkari had earlier won this seat in the 2014 elections by defeating Congress leader Vilas Muttemwar. In the 2019 elections, he defeated Congress leader Nana Patole. However, this time Congress has fielded Vikas Thackeray, the sitting MLA from Nagpur West.

Sarbananda Sonewal

Sarbananda Sonowal, in charge of Ports, Shipping and Waterways and AYUSH Minister in the Modi government, is contesting from Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat in Assam. BJP has chosen Sonowal for this seat in place of Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Ramswar Teli. Sonewal is a Rajya Sabha member. He previously served as the Chief Minister of Assam and won the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat in 2014.

Kiren Rijiju

Law Minister Kiren Rijiju is contesting from Arunachal West Lok Sabha seat. He won the seat in 2004 but lost in 2009. Rijiju recaptured this seat in 2014 and 2019. This time he is facing former Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh Nabam Tuki.

Bhupendra Yadav

Environment and Climate Change Minister Bhupendra Yadav is contesting from the Alwar Lok Sabha seat of Rajasthan. He is contesting from Lalit Yadav of Congress, who is currently the MLA from Mundawar seat. BJP's Baba Balak Nath won from Alwar in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Arjun Ram Meghwal

Law Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal is contesting from Bikaner Lok Sabha seat of Rajasthan. He is facing competition from former minister Govind Ram Meghwal of Congress and Khet Ram Meghwal of BSP. Arjun Ram Meghwal won this seat for the first time in 2009 and thereafter retained this seat in 2014 and 2019 also.

Jitendra Singh

Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office, Dr. Jitendra Singh is contesting from Udhampur Lok Sabha seat of Jammu and Kashmir. The constituency consists of five districts: Kathua, Kishtwar, Ramban, Udhampur and Doda. Singh is preparing for his third term. He is contesting from Congress's Chaudhary Lal Singh, who had earlier won this seat in 2004 and 2009.

Sanjeev Balyan

Minister of State for Home Sanjeev Balyan is contesting from Muzaffarnagar Lok Sabha seat of Uttar Pradesh. He was first elected in 2014 and won again in 2019 by defeating Chaudhary Ajit Singh of Rashtriya Lok Dal. This time he is facing SP's Harendra Malik.

Ajay Bhatt

Minister of State for Defense Ajay Bhatt is the BJP candidate from Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar Lok Sabha seat of Uttarakhand. Congress has fielded Prakash Joshi against Bhatt. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Ajay Bhatt defeated former Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Harish Rawat.

Faggan Singh Kulaste

Union Minister of State for Steel Faggan Singh is the BJP candidate from Kulaste Mandla Lok Sabha seat. The party had also fielded him in the assembly elections held this year but he had to face defeat. Congress has chosen Omkar Singh Markam, while BSP has fielded Inder Singh Uike.

Nishith Pramanik

Minister of State for Home Nishith Pramanik is contesting from the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat of West Bengal. He became MP for the first time in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. This time TMC has fielded MLA Jagdish Burman Basunia against him.

L Murugan

Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting L Murugan is the BJP candidate from Nilgiri Lok Sabha seat in Tamil Nadu. He is contesting against former DMK Union Minister A Raja. This is Murugan's first Lok Sabha election.