Diwali Crackers Permission- Let us know where the permission to burst firecrackers is given and where it is banned.


The much awaited festival of lights, Diwali , is about to arrive and preparations are going on across the country. Traditionally marked by the lighting of firecrackers and dazzling displays of fireworks , Diwali is a time to celebrate joy. In view of the increasing levels of pollution , especially in areas like Delhi NCR and Mumbai , authorities have imposed strict restrictions on burning of firecrackers.

Recent increases have raised concerns about the harmful effects of this toxic air on public health. Recognizing the seriousness of the situation , some states have decided to ban the use of firecrackers during Diwali , while others have imposed time restrictions and supported the use of ' green ' firecrackers. Let us know about the specific rules related to the use of firecrackers in different states during this festive season-



A comprehensive ban on the use of firecrackers has been implemented in Delhi on Diwali.

Uttar Pradesh (UP):

Although there is no ban on firecrackers in UP , it is important to note that the rules applicable in the NCR region, like Delhi, will remain in force.


All types of firecrackers have been banned in cities like Patna , Gaya , Muzaffarpur and Hajipur. However , use of green crackers has been allowed between 8 pm and 10 pm in other cities and villages .


The Bombay High Court has directed officials and law enforcement to ensure that firecrackers are burst only between 7 pm and 10 pm on Diwali. Fireworks are allowed in Nagpur from 8 pm to 10 pm .


Use of green crackers is allowed in Karnataka between 8 pm and 10 pm.


In Punjab , only green firecrackers are allowed , and the Ludhiana administration's advisory specifies the time for bursting crackers from 8 pm to 10 pm.

West Bengal:

The West Bengal government has authorized limited use of green crackers during Diwali.


In Kerala, the state government has approved the use of firecrackers from 8 pm to 10 pm.