Chaitra Navratri 2024: What should be eaten and what not during Chaitra Navratri fast? Click to know!



Navratri is a festival dedicated to Goddess Durga. It is a celebration to please Goddess Durga and seek her blessings. During Navratri days, devotees observe fast as per tradition or as per their convenience and worship Goddess Durga. During these days, along with observing a fast, special prayers are also performed to please Goddess Durga. If you want to ensure that there are no mistakes in your Navratri fast and that your puja is successful and fruitful, then know what can and cannot be eaten during the fast.

What you can eat during the Navratri fast:

  • During the Navratri fast, only pure and satvik food should be consumed.
  • During the Navratri fast, rock salt should be used instead of regular salt.
  • Samak rice can also be eaten during the fast. Khichdi and kheer made from these grains are consumed during the fast.
  • Sabudana can be consumed even during fasting and its khichdi is very tasty.
  • You can also eat peanuts, potatoes and sago chips during the fast.
  • Flours like buckwheat flour, sago flour, sweet potato flour and water chestnut flour can be consumed during the Navratri fast.
  • Vegetables like potato, tomato, cucumber, pumpkin, spinach, sweet potato, taro and bottle gourd can be eaten during the Navratri fast.
  • Spices like cumin powder, green cardamom, black pepper powder, cinnamon, oregano, cloves and black pepper can also be used during the Navratri fast.
  • Milk, ghee, curd, cheese, khoya or mawa and tea can also be consumed during these days. You can also eat sweets made from milk and petha during the Navratri fast.

pc: Navbharat Times

What should you avoid eating during the Navratri fast:

  • If you are fasting during Navratri then avoid consuming garlic and onion.
  • Since rock salt is used in fasting food, regular salt should be avoided.
  • Grains like wheat and rice are not eaten during the fast.
  • Beans, lentils, rice, wheat flour, corn flour, whole wheat and semolina are also not consumed during the fast.