Indian Railway: These are the country's largest and smallest railway stations! Know more about them


Indian Railway Facts: Indian Railways is the fourth-largest rail network in the world and the second-largest in Asia. According to media reports, there is a total of 8338 railway stations in India, which are spread across the country. With the help of these railway stations, lakhs of passengers travel in trains every day. There are many very strange railway stations in the country. Today we will tell you about the biggest and smallest name railway station in the country. The station with the largest name is spelled in 28 English letters, while the entire alphabet has only 26 letters.


Let us tell you that the railway station with the biggest name in the country is Venkatanarasimharajuvaripeta. There is a total of 28 English letters in their spelling. This station is in Andhra Pradesh. It is adjacent to the Tamil Nadu border. The local people usually add the prefix 'Sri' to its name, making it three more characters long. 


There is a lot of discussion about this station on social media. If you ever get a chance, you should visit here


On the other hand, if we talk about the smallest railway station in the country, then it is the 'Ib' station located in Odisha. The name of this station ends as soon as it starts. There are only two letters in its name. This popular station derives its name from the 'Ib' river, which is a tributary of the Mahanadi. It is said that this is the only railway station in India, which has the shortest name.


Apart from this, the longest railway platform in the country is the Gorakhpur railway station of UP. The length of this platform is 4483 feet i.e. 1366.33 meters. The name of the platform of Gorakhpur railway station is recorded as the longest platform in the world.


At the same time, the first railway station of Indian Railways was Bori Bunder located in Mumbai. The country's first passenger train ran from this station to Pune. It was built by the 'Great Indian Peninsular Railway. This station was rebuilt as 'Victoria Terminus' in the year 1888.