IPL: No one could break this IPL record for 13 years, even Dhoni is far away from this!


pc: ABP Live - ABP News

There have been many wicketkeepers in the world of cricket who have the power to change the outcome of the match even while standing behind the stumps. In the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL), great players like Adam Gilchrist, MS Dhoni, Kumar Sangakkara, and Mark Boucher have showcased their skills. Especially if we talk about MS Dhoni, he is one of the most successful captains in IPL history, who has led CSK to victory five times and achieved many personal achievements. However, there is one record that is miles away from MS Dhoni at the moment.

MS Dhoni fell behind this record

Talking about wicketkeeping records, the record of most dismissals in a match while standing behind the wicket is in the name of the great Sri Lankan player Kumar Sangakkara. The record for most dismissals in an IPL match is held by Sangakkara, who took 5 catches while keeping for Deccan Chargers against RCB in 2011. There are many wicketkeepers who have taken 4 dismissals in a single match, but to date, no one has been able to match the record of Sangakkara.

Talking about MS Dhoni, his highest number of dismissals in a match is 4. He achieved this feat in the match between CSK and RCB in 2013, where he took 3 catches and also made a stumping. Dhoni came close to breaking Sangakkara's record during the match against KKR in 2020, but he contributed to dismissing only 4 players.

However, in the IPL, the wicketkeeper with the most dismissals overall is MS Dhoni, who has dismissed players from behind the stumps 180 times. But the record of being out on zero for the most number of times in a match is still far away from him.