Who will be the new speaker of Lok Sabha?


Parliament Session July 2024: BJP has returned to power at the center for the third consecutive time with the support of allies. In such a situation, the atmosphere is not going to be the same as before. Some tussle has started already. The session of Parliament is about to begin and the biggest task before the BJP is the election of the Speaker. The Congress-led INDIA alliance is advising TDP and Nitish Kumar's JDU without asking to appoint their own speaker. Meanwhile, the BJP has entrusted the responsibility of building a consensus to its senior leader and Defense Minister Rajnath Singh. Yesterday he held a meeting with senior ministers to prepare the strategy of the House for the upcoming session of Parliament. After this, three names have started being discussed for the Speaker. 


three names for speaker

Yes, the names of BJP leaders Radha Mohan Singh, D Purandeshwari, and Bhatruhari Mahtab are being discussed as the possible successors of the outgoing Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla. Senior Congress leader K Suresh, who has been a Lok Sabha member eight times, is the most senior in terms of parliamentary experience and is a contender for the role of temporary Speaker (Pro tem Speaker). 

1. Radha Mohan Singh

BJP has already made it clear that it will retain the post of Speaker. Current Speaker Om Birla is also said to be in the race. Radha Mohan Singh was the Agriculture Minister in Modi Government-1. He was associated with ABVP Motihari in the 1970s. He was the General Secretary of Bihar BJP in the 90s. He was also the State President in 2006. 

2. Purandeswari

The next name is Purandeswari, who is a BJP MP from Andhra Pradesh. She is called 'Sushma Swaraj of South'. She is currently the state president of BJP in Andhra. She has a special relationship with TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu. She is the daughter of former CM NT Rama Rao. Chandrababu is married to her sister. 

3. Bhatrihari Mahtab

Bhatruhari Mahtab joined the BJP from BJD in March itself. He had won the MP election 6 times. This time also he won from the Cuttack seat of Odisha. He is a writer and social worker. He has also received the award of best MP. 

Stance of JDU and TDP

The Parliament session starting next week is important as it will see the election of a new Lok Sabha Speaker, and President Draupadi Murmu will present the NDA government's vision for the next five years to the nation. It is understood that the meeting held at the Defence Minister's residence discussed possible candidates for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker and Deputy Speaker. JDU has clearly said that it will support the BJP candidate for the post of Speaker, while another important ally, Telugu Desam Party, has demanded a unanimous candidate for the prestigious post. 

Does Congress want a Deputy Speaker?

The opposition 'India' alliance has demanded the post of deputy speaker for its candidate while the BJP is considering giving the post to its alliance partner. 

Union ministers S Jaishankar, Manohar Lal Khattar, Bhupendra Yadav, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Kiren Rijiju, and Annapurna Devi attended the meeting held at Rajnath Singh's official residence. Other leaders from ND's allies, including Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lallan of Janata Dal (United) and Chirag Paswan of Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), also attended the meeting. 

The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha is starting from 24 June. During this, the newly elected members will be sworn in and then the Lok Sabha Speaker will be elected on 26 June. The motion of thanks on the President's address will be discussed in both houses on 28 June. Prime Minister Narendra Modi can respond to the discussion on 2-3 July.