Karnataka election results 2023: Who will be the next Chief Minister of Karnataka? Know about Congress CM's face!


Photo Credit: Hindustan

Karnataka Election Results 2023 Live: The Karnataka Election 2023 results are going to be declared today and the counting of votes is currently underway. However, the trends are showing that the Congress party will win the election after dethroning the Bharatiya Janata Party.

While the Congress party has already made a strong lead in 129 seats, the BJP is trailing with a lead of just 66 seats. As it is predicted that Congress will win the Karnataka elections, a question arises - who will be the next Chief Minister of Karnataka?

Currently, Karnataka is witnessing a contest for the chief minister's post between the two top candidates of the Congress party - Leader of the Opposition Siddaramaiah and Karnataka Congress Chief DK Shivakumar.

Karnataka Election Result 2023: The Chief Minister's face is from the Congress party

DK Shivakumar

DK Shivakumar is the current Karnataka Congress chief and has huge popularity in the state. Shivakumar has held frequent rallies during the Karnataka election campaign season and has been called a "new talent" who can take the seat of CM of Karnataka.


Siddaramaiah is currently the Leader of the Opposition in Karnataka, and served as the Chief Minister of Karnataka from 2013 to 2018, after which BJP leader Basavaraj Bommai took over. He is one of the senior most leaders of the Congress party and a clear contender for the post of CM.

While the Congress party has not formally announced who will be the Chief Minister of Karnataka after emerging victorious in the elections, the fight seems to be between these two candidates. In addition, the Congress party will organize a democratic vote among all the new MLAs to decide who will be the next Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Karnataka elections 2023 were held on 10th May, and the counting of votes is being done today, 13th May. It is expected that the BJP will be thrown out of power and the Congress will form the new government in the state.