Bank holidays ALERT! Banks will remain closed for 14 days in December 2022, see the full list!


December 2022 is in five days and banks across the country will be closed for 14 days next month. This also includes the second and fourth Saturdays and Sundays. Apart from the weekly holiday, banks will remain closed due to other holidays in various states.

For the unversed, the RBI has divided the holidays into three categories: Holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act, Holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act Real-time Gross Settlement Holidays, and Bank of Accounts Closing. RBI has released the following list of holidays.

It is important to note that many bank holidays may differ from state to state and bank to bank. There are 14 bank holidays in December. Out of which six are weekend holidays and the other 8 are as per the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar list.


December 2022: Full list of bank holidays

Holiday Calendar List for December 2022 by Reserve Bank of India (RBI)

December 3, 2022 (Saturday): Feast of St. Francis Xavier (Goa)

December 12, 2022 (Monday): Pa-Togan Nengminja Sangma

December 19, 2022 (Monday): Goa Liberation Day

December 24, 2022 (Saturday): Christmas Eve

December 26, 2022 (Monday): Christmas Celebration / Losung / Namsung

December 29, 2022 (Thursday): Birthday of Guru Gobind Singh Ji

December 30, 2022 (Friday): Yu Kiang Nangbah

December 31, 2022 (Saturday): New Year's Eve

Weekend in December 2022

10 December 2022: Second Saturday

December 4, 2022: Sunday

December 11, 2022: Sunday

December 18, 2022: Sunday

24 December 2022: Second Saturday

December 25, 2022: Christmas Day/Sunday.