In which country is there punishment for not voting?


At present, in most of the countries of the world, public representatives are selected through elections only.

In India, about one-third of the registered voters do not cast their vote, but do you know that there are some countries in the world where there is a provision of punishment for not voting?

In fact, in 19 countries, punishment is given for not voting, these include Australia, Brazil, Chile, Cyprus, Congo, Argentina, Belgium, Ecuador, Turkey, Fiji, Peru, Singapore, Uruguay, and Switzerland.

To ensure 100% voting, these countries have made the rule of compulsory voting.

In Singapore, even voting rights are taken away for not voting, while in Brazil, a passport is confiscated for breaking this rule.

In Bolivia, three months' salary is withheld for not voting, while in Belgium there is a provision of fine.