Strong Mumbai challenge in front of Rajasthan, win needed for Royals to maintain hope


Defending champions Mumbai Indians would like to continue their dominating performance against the Rajasthan Royals in the IPL match to be held here on Sunday. At the same time, the Rajasthan Royals team will have to win the match to stay in the tournament. The biggest worry for Rajasthan is not doing well for the top order and the form of skipper Steve Smith, who has scored 265 runs in 11 matches.

The team has great players like Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson, and Jose Butler but all three have failed to perform together. All-rounder Rahul Teotia has done well with both bat and ball. Bowling also lacks consistency. Only Jofra Archer (15 wickets) has been effective at his pace.

Availability of Rohit not decided

A 10-wicket win over Chennai Super Kings saw Mumbai win a one-sided victory while losing the previous match to Punjab in a super over. On the other hand, Rajasthan lost to Hyderabad by eight wickets in the last match. Mumbai Indians are on the verge of reaching the play-offs but the question will be whether Rohit will be available for the match, who did not play against Chennai due to a muscle injury.

Rohit's absence, however, was not felt against Chennai on Friday as young Ishan Kishan scored an unbeaten 68. Quinton Dickock also scored an unbeaten 46 runs. If Rohit is not available then both of them will start the innings again. Suryakumar, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard are all doing well in Mumbai's middle order.

Both teams

Rajasthan Royals:

Steve Smith (captain), Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson, Joffra Archer, Ben Stokes, Robin Uthappa, David Miller, Ankit Rajput, Mahipal Lomror, Manan Vohra, Ryan Parag, Mayank Markande, Shreyas Gopal, Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat , Karthik Tyagi, Akash Singh, Oshen Thomas, Andrew Tye, Rahul Teotia, Shashank Singh, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anirudh Joshi, Tom Karan, and Anuj Rawat

Mumbai Indians:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Digvijay Deshmukh, Aditya Tare, Saurabh Tiwari, Jaspreet Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar, Chris Lynn, Hardik Pandya, Sheriffin Rutherford, Anmolpreet Singh, Mohsin Khan, Mitchell McClenagh , Prince Balwant Rai, Anukul Roy, Ishan Kishan, Dhawal Kulkarni, Trent Boult, Jayant Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav, Nathan Kuppter-Nile and James Pattinson.