ROHIT SHARMA created history with the first HAT TRICK on this day!


On this day, 12 years ago, Rohit Sharma took his first hat-trick in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). During 2009, Rohit Sharma represented Deccan Chargers and took a hat-trick against Mumbai Indians at Centurion.

Deccan Chargers opted to bat first in the match and the team recorded a total of 145/6 in the prescribed twenty overs. Rohit also scored 38 runs with the bat. Defending the target, Mumbai had scored 103/4 in the 16th over, making it difficult for the Deccan Chargers. However, Rohit changed the color of the game as he dismissed Abhishek Nair (1) and Harbhajan Singh (0) on the final two balls of the 16th over.

Then starting the 18th over of the innings, Rohit scored a hat-trick by dismissing JP Duminy (52) to ensure Deccan Chargers' victory in the match. Deccan Chargers won the match by 19 runs, stopping Mumbai at 126/8. Rohit finished the match with figures of 4-6 in his two overs.

Indian opener Rohit has won the most times in IPL. He has won the tournament 6 times (in 2009 with Deccan Chargers and five times with Mumbai Indians). Mumbai Indians won the IPL in 2020 under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.