IPL 2020: Encouraged by the win, Chennai will have to defeat Delhi Capitals today


Chennai Super Kings' campaign has returned to track again under the skillful captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, but he will have to face a tough challenge from the Delhi Capitals here at 7.30 pm on Saturday evening in the Indian Premier League. Whatever strategy Dhoni adopted in the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad proved to be effective and his team will try to show a similar game against Delhi to maintain their hopes in the season.

Whether it was to field Sam Karan as the opener or to end the quota of fast bowler Deepak Chahar using seven bowlers, each of Dhoni's tactics was successful in the previous match. Dhoni got leg-spinner Piyush Chawla to only one over and that too in the 16th over, he showed more confidence in Ravindra Jadeja and Karn Sharma. There is every possibility that Chennai will again come down with three spinners on Sharjah's continuously slowing wicket. The role of spinners has been crucial in Sharjah and the last two matches were also seen when the teams won by a good performance of the slow bowlers. Chennai now faces a team that is confident with consistent performance.

For Delhi, South African fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada and Enrich Nortje have handled the bowling very well. Nortje bowled at a speed of 156.2 kmph in the match against Rajasthan Royals. In the spin department, R Ashwin and Akshar Patel bowled impressively while in the last match, fast bowler Tushar Deshpande made his IPL debut memorable. The Delhi team, however, is worried about the fitness of captain Shreyas Iyer, who suffered a shoulder injury in the previous match. Iyer is in very good form and has also led the team well. If he does not play tomorrow, then Delhi will miss his batting and calm leadership. Delhi wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant is already out due to injury. The team will expect a good start from the talented Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan. If Iyer does not play, the responsibility of Ajinkya Rahane and Marcus Stoinis will also increase in the middle order.

Both teams are

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Murali Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Imran Tahir, Mitchell Sentner, Josh Hazlewood, Shardul Thakur, Sam Curren, N Jagadishan, KM Asif, Monu Kumar, R Sai Kishore, Rituraj Gaikwad, Karn Sharma.

Delhi Capitals: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Sauv, Shimron Hetmeyer, Kagiso Rabada, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Akshar Patel, Sandeep Lamichhane, Chemo Paul, Daniel Symes, Mohit Sharma, Enrique Norte , Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Avesh Khan, Tusshar Deshpande, Harshal Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Lalit Yadav.