In Sri Lanka, only three Indian captains have scored centuries in ODIs, will Shikhar Dhawan be able to do this wonder?


The three-match ODI series between India and Sri Lanka will begin on July 18. Team India captain Shikhar Dhawan has been made for this series. Shikhar Dhawan will be captaining Team India on an international tour for the first time and he will be seen leading the Indian team for the first time on Sri Lankan soil. During this ODI series, not only good captaincy but also good scores will be expected from Dhawan. At the same time, Dhawan would like that, by batting well on this tour, he strengthens his claim in the team for the T20 World Cup.

Will Dhawan be able to match Tendulkar, Ganguly, and Virat?

Several bilateral ODI cricket series has been played between India and Sri Lanka, but so far only three captains of India have achieved the feat of scoring a century as captain in Sri Lanka in ODIs. Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, and Virat Kohli are the batsmen who have scored centuries in Sri Lanka so far as Indian captains. Now Shikhar Dhawan also has a great chance to play a century like these three players on Sri Lankan soil and be included in this list. Well, the kind of form that Dhawan has and the condition of the Sri Lankan team, also seems possible.

Gautam Gambhir has played the biggest innings for India in Sri Lanka in ODIs

The record of playing the biggest innings in ODI cricket for India on Sri Lankan soil is in the name of former India opener Gautam Gambhir. Gambhir scored 150 runs in ODIs in Sri Lanka, which is a record till now. In this case, Sachin Tendulkar is at number two, who scored 138 runs in ODIs on Sri Lankan soil. At the same time, Shikhar Dhawan has played an unbeaten 132 in Sri Lanka in ODIs and is at number three in terms of playing the biggest innings.

Top 6 Indian batsmen who played the biggest innings in ODIs in Sri Lanka-

Gautam Gambhir - 150 runs

Sachin Tendulkar - 138 runs

Shikhar Dhawan - 132* runs

Virat Kohli - 131 runs

Virat Kohli - 128* runs

Sachin Tendulkar - 128 runs