Foreign Minister of 'Quad' countries to meet in Tokyo on 6 October amidst increasing Chinese bullying


The foreign ministers of Japan, the United States, Australia, and India will meet in Tokyo next week and show their countries' commitment to the free and open Indo-Pacific region. Japanese media quoted Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi on Tuesday.

The October 6 meeting of Motegi is scheduled to be held by US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, Australian Foreign Minister Mariz Payne, and his Indian counterpart Subrahmanyam Jaishankar amid China's growing domination in the region.

The dialogue between the representatives of democracy, collectively known as the Quad (Quad), will be the first ministerial-level publicized conference organized by Tokyo since the beginning of the coronavirus epidemic. They are meeting after their separate meeting during the United Nations General Assembly in New York in September last year.

"It is high time that the foreign ministers of the four countries, who share similar ambitions in regional affairs, exchange views on various challenges," Motegi said at a press conference. He also stated that he also intends to have bilateral talks with each of his counterparts.

He added, "The vision of an independent and open Indo-Pacific region in the post-Coronavirus world has increased and I hope to recognize the importance of further deepening coordination with many countries towards realizing this vision." Will be confirmed in the meeting of the Foreign Minister.

Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga took charge on 16 September and with it, the country's first leadership change in nearly eight years. According to Japanese media, sources aware of the matter said on Monday that PM Suga has also planned to meet Pompeo separately on the occasion of this four-party meeting.

In view of China's increasing dominance in the region, the United States, Japan, Australia, and India have stepped up cooperation to ensure a rules-based international order in the Indo-Pacific region. This includes observance of the rule of law, freedom of movement in the sea and sky, and peaceful settlement of disputes.