Cabinet expansion in Karnataka, seven new ministers sworn in


The 17-month-old Yeddyurappa government's cabinet was expanded in Karnataka on Wednesday. Seven new ministers were added to the government.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers, including MLAs Umesh Katti, S Angara, Murugesh Nirani, and Arvind Limbavali besides MLC R Shankar, MTB Nagaraj, and CP Yogeshwar at a function held at Raj Bhavan.

This is the third expansion of the Cabinet after BS Yeddyurappa became the Chief Minister in July 2019. Earlier on Sunday, Yeddyurappa met Home Minister Amit Shah in Delhi and discussed cabinet expansion. Chief Minister Yeddyurappa, cabinet ministers, Karnataka BJP in-charge Arun Singh, state president Nalin Kumar Katil and others were present at the function.