Bengal Phase 6 Election 2021: Voting for 43 seats in the sixth phase is going on, Mukul Roy-Arjun Singh cast his vote


Voting did not start at this booth

The sixth phase of voting is taking place in West Bengal. During this time, voting could not start due to a technical problem in booth number 134 at Raiganj Coronational High School in Uttar Dinajpur.

Mukul Roy also voted

BJP national vice president Mukul Roy also voted. He cast his vote in booth number 141 at Kanchrapara in North 24 Parganas.

Enthusiasm in voting

Despite the outbreak of the second wave of Corona, there was enthusiasm among the people for voting in Bengal. In North Dinajpur district, booth-175 saw long lines of voters.

BJP vice president Arjun Singh cast a vote

In West Bengal, BJP vice-president Arjun Singh voted at booth number 144 in Jagatdal in North 24 Parganas.

Mathematics of 43 assembly seats in four districts

The fifth phase will contest all nine seats in Uttar Dinajpur district, nine out of 17 seats in Nadia district, 17 out of 33 seats in North 24 Parganas, and eight out of 24 seats in Bardhaman district. These include BJP MPs in all three Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Dinajpur. At the same time, Trinamool has MLAs on six of the nine assembly seats, while the CPM, Forward Bloc, and Congress have one each. Talking about Nadia district, the BJP and the Trinamool are in one of the two Lok Sabha seats here. In the 17 assembly seats, Trinamool has 13 MLAs, two from Congress and one each from Left and BJP.

P. Voting begins for the sixth phase in Bengal

P. Voting for the sixth phase begins in Bengal. Voting is going on for 43 seats and 306 candidates are in the fray.

Voters arrived to cast their votes

The line to cast votes outside Poling Bodh No. 116 of Jagatdal Assembly seat.

Voters line

There was a queue of voters outside booth number 205 of the Jagatdal assembly constituency. Voting will start at 7 am.

Voting preparations

View of a polling station in Kanchanpada. Voting will start here at 7 am.

14,480 polling stations in 43 assembly constituencies

14,480 polling stations have been set up in 43 assembly constituencies of the four districts. It is believed that the main contest in this phase will be between the ruling Trinamool Congress and the BJP.

These are the main candidates in the field

Prominent candidates for this phase include BJP national vice president Mukul Roy, Trinamool ministers Jyotipriya Mallik and Chandrima Bhattacharya, and CPI (M) leader Tanmay Bhattacharya. Apart from this, film director Raj Chakraborty and actress Kausani Mukherjee are also on the fray as Trinamool candidates.

Voting is to be held in these seats

In this phase, in addition to 17 seats in the North 24 Parganas district, nine seats each in Nadia and Uttar Dinajpur and eight seats of Purba Bardhaman are to be voted.

The Election Commission official said that strict security arrangements have been made in view of the violence in the previous stages. The Election Commission has deployed 1071 companies of central forces to conduct fair voting in the sixth phase. The Matua community has a good influence on the seats in this phase and the BJP and TMC have put their full emphasis to woo them. Till now, votes have been cast in 180 seats in the state. Elections are remaining for the remaining 114 seats.

In the sixth phase of elections, more than one crore voter will decide the political fate of 306 candidates for 43 assembly seats today. Amid the second wave of Coronavirus, an Election Commission official said that security measures have been tightened in view of the violence in the previous stages. Five people died in Cooch Behar on April 10 in the fourth phase of polling