Two former Cong MLAs join BJP in Manipur


Two former Congress MLAs today joined BJP ahead of the upcoming state elections due in early 2017. The former Congress MLAs, N Biren and Francis Ngajokpa were warmly received by BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav, BJPs National Democratic Alliance Convenor Himanta Biswa and state party President Bhabananda here.

Ngajokpa had tendered his resignation from the house as well as from the primary membership of the party on October 13 and N Biren on October 6 this year.

Though Ngajokpa maintained that he had resigned from Congress due to the pressure of his voters of Tadubi in Senapati district, N Biren alleged that the present incumbent Ibobi Singh government had failed to bring good governance in the state. Earlier in September last, veteran Congress MLA Y Erabot as the first to resign from the party to join BJP.