Top ministers on BJP’s three-member panel to consult allies on next President


The BJP today formed a three-member panel of senior ministers for consultations with political parties for the Presidential election to be held, if necessary, on July 17. Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley and Venkaiah Naidu are individuals from the committee.

BJP president Amit Shah cancelled a visit to Arunachal Pradesh today for a meeting with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and senior leaders to discuss the Presidential election.

If the opposition too sets up an applicant, which is likely considering the progressing talks among top leaders of the Congress, the Left, Janata Dal (United), among others, a contest will be inevitable. The counting of votes will take place on July 20 in New Delhi.

The electorate, comprising elected Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha individuals and individuals from state assemblies, is tilted in favour of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance, but the opposition is trying to woo regional parties to support their candidate.