The Eight Forms of Bhairava


Bhairava is Lord Shiva in His Fiercest Manifestation. It may be worth mentioning that Shiva is different from Rudra, which is yet another manifestation of Shiva (Actually the pronunciation is Siva).

“Kaal Bhairava is a fierce incarnation of Lord Shiva .The term Bhairava means “Terrific”.

He is often depicted with frowning, angry eyes and sharp, tiger’s teeth and flaming hair, stark naked except for garlands of skulls and a coiled snake about his neck.

In his four hands he carries a noose, trident, drum, and skull. He is often shown accompanied by a dog. Once Brahma insulted Lord Shiva and his fifth head teasingly laughed at Lord Shiva.

From Lord Shiva came out the Kalabhairava (Black Bhairava) who tore off the fifth head of Lord Brahma.

On the entreaties of Lord Vishnu, Shiva pardoned Lord Brahma. But the sin (in the form of a lady) of beheading Lord Brahma followed Kalabhairava everywhere. Also the head of Brahma stuck to him. To keep away the sin and punishment which were chasing him, Kalabhairava entered the city of Banaras (now Varanasi). The sin could not enter the city. Kalabhairava was made as the Kotwal of the city of Varanasi. Bhairava rides on a dog.

A pilgrimage to Kasi (Benares) is not supposed to be complete without visiting the temple of Kalabhairava.’

The Eight Forms of Bhairava –

1. Asidanga Bhairava – Gives Creative Ability

2. Guru Bhairava – Divine Educator

3. Chanda Bhairava – Gives incredible energy, cuts competition and rivals

4. Kroda Bhairava – Gives You the Power to Take Massive Action

5. Unmatta Bhairava – Controls Negative Ego and Harmful Self Talk

6. Kapala Bhairava – Ends All Unrewarding Work and Action

7. Bhishana Bhairava – Obliterates Evil Spirits and Negativity

8. Samhara Bhairava –  Complete Dissolution of Old Negative Karma.