The difference between jyotirlinga and shivling


The basic difference is jyothirlingas are believed to be created by Lord Shiva when he appeared on earth.

Jyothirlingas are believed to rest a part of soul of Lord Shiva himself and are not man-made.

As per mythology, Lord Vishnu and Lord Brahma had a fight between their supremacy. Lord Shiva was called to bring a solution, for which He created three strong light beams and declared whoever crosses and finds the end of this would be declared supremer. Unfortunately, both Vishnu and Brahma couldn’t find the end. What happened next is still the reason why Brahma doesn’t have as many followers.

Lord Vishnu accepted his defeat, while Lord Brahma lied. This made Lord Shiva angry, and he cursed Brahma that he wouldn’t have any followers.

Now, Jyothirlingas are places where Shiva appeared on Earth to create the light beams, it is believed.

There are as many as 64 jyothirlingas of which 12 are considered pious.

Shivalinghas are created by humans just like any other idols.

There are 12 Jyotirlingas across India. They are:-

  1. Somanatha Jyotirlinga in Gujarat.
  2. Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga in Andhra.
  3. Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga in Ujjain.
  4. Omkareshwara Jyotirlinga in MadhyaPradesh.
  5. Kedarnath Jyotirlinga in Kedarnath.
  6. Bhimashankara Jyotirlinga in Maharashtra.
  7. Kashi Vishwanatha Jyotirlinga in Varanasi,UP.
  8. Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga in Nasik.
  9. Vaidyanatham Jyotirlinga in Jharkhand.
  10. Nageshwara Jyotirlinga in Dwaraka, Gujarat.
  11. Rameshwara Jyotirlinga in Rameshwaram, Tamilnadu.
  12. Gushneshwar Jyotirlinga in Maharashtra.

It is usually believed that, those who visit all these 12 Jyotirlingas would attain moksha and would be free from the cycle of birth and death. Along with this they get the bleesings of that supreme lord.

Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga is the only main Jyotirlinga that has the great divine presence of both Shiva and Adi Shakthi residing in it.