Tamil Nadu Premier League commence from August 27


Chennai: After the Karnataka Premier League and the Maharashtra Premier League, it is the turn of Tamil Nadu to have its own domestic Twenty20 League. The first edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League will commence from August 27 and will consist of eight franchises.

Nic Pothas appointed as Sri Lanka fielding coach

The likes of Ravichandran Ashwin, Dinesh Karthik and L Balaji will feature in the Tamil Nadu Premier League. A total of 888 players will be part of the auction process. The base price for international stars who have represented the Indian team will be from Rs 3 lakh to 5 lakh.

This is the third domestic Twenty20 league in India, with Karnataka and Maharashtra hosting Twenty20 competitions. Karnataka was the first state to have a domestic league when they started the KPL in 2009, with Maharashtra following suit with its own league. In the last edition of the KPL, Bijapur Bulls won the final while in the MPL, Raigad Royals emerged victorious.