Supreme Court: Former Chief Ministers are not entitled to Government accommodations


On Monday the Supreme Court ruled that previous chief ministers of states are not permitted to administration lodging. The bench conveyed that, any houses thus engaged should be vacated within two or three months. Justices U U Lalit and L Nageswara Rao has also conveyed that, they don't have the right to occupy government accommodation for lifetime. According to sources, the court solicited six past Uttar Pradesh Chief Ministers to leave the houses in which they had been continuing. This counts ND Tiwari, Kalyan Singh, Ram Naresh Yadav, Rajnath Singh, Mayawati and Mulayam Singh Yadav. The bench including Justices Anil R Dave, NV Ramana and R Banumathi was hearing a petition filed by Lucknow non-profit group Lok Prahari, which has as its associates numerous retired bureaucrats, police officers and judges. They quarreled that the performance of allotting houses to past chief ministers and other “ineligible” parties started in Uttar Pradesh and was afterward adopted by other states. The cluster had objected to the huge estates chosen to the ex-CMs, conveying they were not necessary even if there were security concerns. The appeal was listed several times previous to different judges.

First Train from Tripura to Delhi inaugurated by Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu

It was first heard in 2014. The NGO had alleged that regardless of the direction of Allahabad high court, the UP government had framed ex-Chief Minister's Residence Allotment Rules, 1997 (non-statutory) for allotting bungalows to consecutive ex-chief ministers. The NGO had also contended that the rules framed in 1997 for portion of administration bungalows to ex-chief ministers were unauthorized and illegal, and those occupying them were allegedly unauthorised occupants under the purview of the UP Public Premises Act. The petitioner also said that retention of government accommodation by chief ministers after demitting office was against the Provisions of UP Ministers Act.

Agitation by Dalits in Ahmedabad