Ranjeet defeated Shahbaaz for semis


Tennis Player VM Ranjeet defeated Shahbaaz Khan in the semifinals of the men’s category in National Grass Court Tennis Championships at Chandigarh Club on Thursday.

Ranjeet played astounding tennis and utilized his experience to win the match 6-3 6-3. 

Beat seed Dawinder Singh likewise moved into the elimination rounds subsequent to enlisting a 6-2 6-4 triumph over Param Pun. Fourth seed Vijay Kannan and third seed Suraj Prabodh contended energetically to affirm their compartments in the last four. Kannan vanquished Jatin Dahiya 6 4 6-4 while Prabodh overwhelmed Tejas Chaukulkar 3 6-2 6-4. 

In the women's' singles quarterfinals, best seed Riya Bhatia vanquished Sara Yadav 6-0 6-2 while second seed Sai Samhitha crushed Kavya Sawhney 6-1 6-2. Third seed Nidhi Chilumul and Aarushi Kakkar likewise moved into the elimination rounds after simple triumphs. 

In the ladies' pairs class, best seeds Nidhi Chilumula and Moulika Ram will confront second seeds Sai Samhitha Chamarthi and Amrita Mukherjee in the last. 

Nidhi and Moulika vanquished fourth seeds Yubrani Benerjee and Neeru Rapria 6-1 6-2. Sai and Amrita beat third seeds Himani Mor and Dakshata Patel 6-1 6-1. 

In the men's copies elimination rounds, third seeds Param Pun and Hardeep Sandhu annoy beat seeds Vilasier Khate and Ranjeet Singh 6-2 6-3 while second seeds Armaan Bhatia and Ishaque Eqbal overwhelmed Abhimansu Borthakur and Saurav Sukul 6-1 6-2. 

India's batting, as has been the situation in the competition so far, aroused around Raj's batting masterclass, with the 33-year-old hitting her second-best individual score of 62, bound with about six limits. In the supporting parts were cameos from Smriti Mandhana (21 off 28) and later, Veda Krishnamurthy (21 off 23) that helped India to their best aggregate of the competition. 

India's left-right opening pair consolidated for a 46-run opening stand that was softened just up the tenth over when Mandhana maneuvered Chamari Athapaththu straight under the control of Sugandika Kumari at profound midwicket. However, Raj did not let the Sri Lankan settle in and hammered a limit on either side of the wicket in her next over. Indeed, the previous Sri Lankan captain gave away the most extreme 27 keeps running in her four-over spell. 

Krishnamurthy, who strolled in at one-down, joined the gathering not long after and dispatched Oshadi Ranasinghe over the long-on ropes for the main six of India's innings. Raj was dropped in her 40s off Sripali Weerakkody, yet there was no thinking back as she squeezed the quickening agent in the passing overs to top off India's overwhelming showcase. 

A memorable seventeenth over observed Raj raising her ninth T20I fifty – and her first in the competition – additionally a questionable expulsion of Krishnamurthy. Raj raised the point of reference off the third conveyance off Srpali before India's No. 3 bat was declared gotten behind attempting to cut. Obviously miserable with the choice, Krishnamurthy solidified for a minute prior to taking the long stroll back to the structure, shaking her head in dissatisfaction. 

Be that as it may, with Raj well set, India rapidly raised the 100 in the following over off Athapaththu. India went ahead to include 24 in the last 18 conveyances to set up a 122-run challenge for Sri Lanka. Generally a damaging hitter, Harmanpreet was upbeat to take singles and pass the strike on to her previous chief who was following pretty much everything. 

In the look for speedy keeps running in the last over, Harmanpreet confounded a flung shot that was inevitably dropped in the profound yet taken a toll them Raj's wicket as a run out, on the penultimate wad of the innings. The captain excessively tumbled off the succeeding conveyance that kept India to 121. 

Sri Lanka's surrendered rather quietly in the do-or-bite the dust challenge. Once the wicket parade began, taught knocking down some pins guaranteed they were choked for runs. The mounting asking rate added to the weight and it turned out to be progressively harder for the Hasini Perera-drove side to arrange a rebound. 

The principal achievement accompanied the last wad of the fourth over when the in-shape Athapaththu endeavored to clear Anuja Patil however was rather hit on the cushions blast before the stumps. Kindred opener Perera, who had hit the competition's initial fifty the day preceding, died three balls later. The Sri Lankan chief neglected to clean Mandhana at mid-up, giving Jhulan Goswami her exclusive wicket of the day. 

Reeling at 25 for 2 toward the end of powerplay, Sri Lanka were managed a twofold blow when Bisht sent Prasadani Weerakkody (14) and Ranasinghe pressing off consecutive conveyances in her first over. Sripali fell with hardly a pause in between as well as Sri Lanka slipped to 37 for 5 at the midway stamp, still 85 short of the triumphant check. 

All-rounder Dilani Manodara (20) offered some resistance by sewing a valuable stand worth 23 for the 6th wicket with Hansima Karunaratne. Be that as it may, Preeti Bose's (3 for 14) late strikes put India solidly in the driver's seat. Poonam Yadav, incorporated into the side to the detriment of Shikha Pandey, excessively opened her record with the wicket of Eshani Lokusuriyage as India praised their advance into the last with a major win. 

Brief scores: India 121/4 in 20 overs (Mithali Raj 62, Veda Krishnamurthy