PV Sindhu selected in BWF Athletes’ Commission


Rio Olympics silver medallist P.V. Sindhu is elected as the second Indian in the Badminton World Federation (BWF) Athletes’ Commission. The first athlete who was selected in (BWF) Athletes’ Commission was Saina Nehwal.

PV Sindhu came out as the uppermost voted player in the BWF Athletes’ Commission election that was held on the marginal of the Sudirman Cup.

She topped the list of BWF Athletes’ Commission by securing 129 votes. Now, she will be associated by Germany’s Marc Zweibler and Scotland’s Kristy Gilmour for a period of four-year.

The latest buzz reveals that Marc Zweibler, PV Sindhu and Kristy Gilmour will be connected by Lithuania’s Akvile Stapusaityte, who will be facing a tenure of two-years after changing China’s Tan Yuanting, who withdrawn after facing two years on the panel.

Badminton Association of India (BAI) President Himanta Biswa Sarma applauded PV Sindhu on the accomplishment.

“It is a splendid moment for us and for the benefit of the whole BAI, I might want to compliment Sindhu for being chosen to the Athletes Commission,” Sarma affirmed

“Her completing at the highest point of the voting outlines just shows how mainstream she is inside the society and how much the players over the world have confidence in Indian badminton.” He said

“We are certain that quite recently like how she gives 100 for each penny on the court, her level of effectiveness will be a similar when she wears her new cap,” Sarma included.

The latest Athletes’ Commission will involve Saina, Japan’s Shintaro Ikeda and Koen Ridder of the Netherlands.