PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar, Jitu Rai honoured with Khel Ratna award


New Delhi: PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar and Jitu Rai were honoured with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award today. The awards will be presented by President at the function which will be held in Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Usain Bolt advised to eat beef twice a day, won nine gold medals says BJP MP Udit Raj

Badminton Player PV Sindhu became the first Indian player to achieve Silver Medal at the Rio Olympics. Sakshi Malik made every Indian proud by becoming the first Indian woman wrestler to achieve the medal.

While Dipa Karmakar could not get any medal for India as a result of her gutsy show.

Around 15 athletes will be given Arjuna Award by the ministry. The list of the athletes include  boxer Shiva Thapa, long distance runner Lalita Babar, cricketer Ajinkya Rahane, hockey players VR Raghunath and Rani Rampal among others.

Six coaches will achieve Dronacharya Award, the most notable among being Dipa’s coach Bishweshwar Nandi and India Test team captain Virat Kohli’s mentor Raj Kumar Sharma.

Apart from Nandi, six others will also be honoured by  Dhronacharya Award including Nagapuri Ramesh (athletics), Sagar Mal Dhayal (boxing), Pradeep Kumar (swimming, lifetime) and Mahabir Singh (wrestling, lifetime).

The Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Satti Geetha (athletics), Sylvanus Dung Dung (hockey) and Rajendra Pralhad Shelke (rowing).

Besides, the Punjabi University of Patiala will be awarded the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2015-16.

The Khel Ratna Award will get a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh.

The Arjuna Award is given for consistent performance over four years, while the Dronacharya Award is given to coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events and the Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime contribution to sports development.

Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.

The athletes of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs 10 lakh and certificates.

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organised function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2016.

For Latest Hindi News,Click Here