Polling Underway In Gujarat for first phase of Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017


The first phase of Gujarat assembly has started. The polling for the phase began at 8 am today for 89 seats in 19 districts of South Gujarat and Saurashtra-Kutch region. Since two days, barred Congress chief Mani Shankar Aiyar’s “neech” statement against PM Narendra Modi has influenced the Gujarat campaign.

Heavy rains predictable in Odisha from today

Currently, BJP in Gujarat has 67 seats while Congress has only 16. On Saturday, Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani and state BJP chief Jitu Vaghani were among the initial voters today.

Among 49 seats in 11 districts of Saurashtra region, BJP has secured 31 seats, NCP has one, another two, two in south Gujarat, BJP on 27, Congress on six and JDU on one. BJP has secured 5 seats and Congress 1 in Kutch districts six seats.

Overall 977 contenders involving 57 women are in the fray in the first phase of elections. The ruling BJP has secured 89 seats whereas the main opposition Congress has achieved 87 seats.

The first phase of polling are being held for districts involving Kutch, Surendranagar, Rajkot, Morbi, Jamnagar, Devabhoomi, Dwarka, Porbandar, Gir-Somnath, Junagadh, Amreli, Bhavnagar, Botad (11 districts of Saurashtra region) and Narmada, Bharuch, Tapi, Surat, Navsari, Valsad, Dang.

In the second phase, the polling will be held for remaining 14 districts for 95 seats on December 14.

Earthquake of magnitude 5.1 strikes Jammu & Kashmir

The counting will take place on December 18.