Pinarayi Vijayan will take oath as Kerala Chief Minister today


Thiruvananthapuram: CPI-M member Pinarayi Vijayan will sworn in today as the chief minister of Kerala. The new government will be sworn in at 4 pm today at the Central stadium in Thiruvananthapuram and people from various walks of life would attend.

Pinarayi will sworn in along with his 18 member ministry.  There will be 12 minister from CPI-M including Vijayan. While four ministers will be from CPI, three others are from Congress(S), NCP and JD(S).

CPI(M) General Secretary, Sitaram Yechury and politburo member, Prakash Karat, will attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Yesterday, Vijayan had said that the new CPI (M) Left Democratic Front government in Kerala will be a people's government and will function beyond caste, religious and political barriers.

The ministers are: Thomas Issac, A K Balan and G Sudhakran – who were ministers in the V S Achuthanandan cabinet (2006, 2011), while new faces are E P Jayarajan, K K Shailaja, A C Moideen, Kadakampally Surendran, T P Ramakrishnan, C Raveendranath, J Mercykutty Amma and K T Jaleel (who won as a CPM-backed Independent).

CPI (M)-led left Democratic Front (LDF) came back to power in Kerala after five years, winning 91 seats in the 140 member Assembly, while UDF won 47 seats.

For the first time in the history of Kerala Assembly, the Bharatiya Janata Party opened its account winning one seat.