Pinarayi Vijayan will be the new Chief Minister of Kerala


Thiruvananthapuram: The CPI-M decided to choose Pinarayi Vijayan as the new chief minister of Kerala. Party sources said the decision was taken at the meeting in state secretariat in the presence of party leader Sitaram  Yechury and Prakash Karat.

A formal announcement is expected to be made later on Friday. Vijayan will be the 22nd chief minister of Kerala. He has been chosen over former chief minister and 93-year-old veteran CPI (M) leader VS Achuthanandan. Both these two leaders have had acrimonious relationship in the past.

The state secretariat unanimously decided to make Vijayan the next CM and report it to the state committee.

In the 140-member state Assembly, CPM-led LDF won 91 seats, UDF headed by Congress got 47 while BJP and Independents bagged one each.