Pakistan England tour : Mohammad Amir returns in Pakistan Test team


New Delhi : Fast bowler Mohammad Amir has been named in Pakistan`s Test squad to face England in a four-match series starting next month, six years after he received a spot-fixing ban against the same opponents in year 2010. However the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is still awaiting for Amir’s visa approval from the UK High Commission. 24-year-old Aamir has made an impressive comeback in shorter formats and ironically his probable return to Test cricket will happen in the same country where he was arrested for indulging in spot-fixing along with Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif. Amir who also served a custodial sentence for the offence, is expected to receive his British visa in the next couple of days following a special request for leniency from the Pakistan Cricket Board.

In addition to receiving custodial sentences, all three players were banned for five years. Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said Amir would receive a visa. "Amir is expected to get visa in the next couple of days and (Mohammad) Hafeez is also cleared by medical staff so we have included him," Inzamam told a press conference. Hafeez has suffered from a knee problem since the Asia Cup in March and had to miss the last two matches of the World T20 in India in April.

The former Test captain said the selected squad was a mix of experience and youth and he was confident there was enough experience in the batting line up to counter the conditions in England. Pakistan’s new head coach, Mickey Arthur is due to reach Lahore on Monday or Tuesday. The team are likely to leave for the tour on June 18 and hold a training camp in Hampshire before their first match against Somerset starting on July 5 and another against Sussex from July 8.

Squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (Captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Sami Aslam, Shaan Masood, Younis Khan, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Ifthikar Ahmed, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Muhammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Aamir, Rahat Ali, Imran Khan and Sohail Khan. iaz, Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali, Imran Khan, Sohail Khan.