NIFT Chief is now Former Cricketer Chetan Chauhan


New Delhi: Sunil Gavaskar’s long-time aperture associate and two-time BJP MP, Chetan Chauhan, is at the present the chairman of the National Institute of Fashion Technology (NIFT). This is a Government of India scheduled time. He thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah for his appointment, and said he had held “a few informal meetings” at his new office. According to the NIFT Act 2006, the chairperson of the Board of Governors (BoG) is predictable to be “an important academician, scientist or technologist or professional, to be designated by the Visitor” of the institute. The term of the appointment is three years. Chauhan, who is the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) vice-president and a senior BCCI official, runs a cricket academy and owns a printing press.

 The right-handed batsman played 40 Tests and has 11,000-plus first-class runs. But he accredited his appointment to his experience in cricketing and banking. He conveyed that, they examined many and finally chooses me. I was very much delight. An official mail sent to the Information Officer, Ministry of Textiles, seeking details about the appointment process. He said that he was very excited about his new innings. Whenever a pressing matter is necessary to be addressed, I will be there. I will be going there once in week. I will have an office there, but I think I will be spending more time at DDCA. I will have to dedicate some time to my company too,” he said. He also conveyed that he will spend 60 per cent of the time in DDCA, 30 per cent at NIFT and 30 per cent in my business. Having played the majority of his cricket in the 1970s, an era known for charismatic characters like Tiger Pataudi, Farokh Engineer and Salim Durrani — Chauhan wasn’t known to be among the team’s showy dressers.

Kiran Dhingra, a retired IAS officer, was the previous chairperson of the NIFT Board of Governors. In March 2010, when Dayanidhi Maran was the Textiles Minister in the UPA government, the board was reconstituted and Venu Srinivasan, chairman of TVS Motor Co and managing director of Sundaram Clayton Ltd, was appointed chairman.