New Zealand series announced, Rohit and Shikhar retains place


India upcoming three-match Test series against New Zealand, the 15-member squad announced. KL Rahul West Indies retained his place after an impressive performance. Rohit Sharma to lead Mumbai batsman selectors meet much speculation surrounding the fate of the team has made.

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan retained their places in the Indian team that will take on New Zealand in a three-Test series at home, starting September 22. However, pacer Shardul Thakur and all-rounder Stuart Binny, who toured the West Indies recently, have been dropped.
The BCCI’s selection committee, joined by Test captain Virat Kohli and coach Anil Kumble, met in Mumbai on Monday and made their decisions in approximately an hour. Success in the Caribbean was rewarded, not surprisingly, considering India’s 2-0 win. India opener Shikhar Dhawan remains in the squad despite managing one half-century in his last 11 innings, though whether he opens in Kanpur is far from certain considering he was dropped for the fourth Test in the West Indies. Sandeep Patil, the chairman of selectors, also singled out a “fabulous player” in Rohit Sharma who the selectors wanted to give “a fair chance” to.

Indian Board of Cricket ( BCCI) wants to stick to five-selector policy

New Zealand will tour India to play a three-Test and five-match One-Day International (ODI) series from September 22. The visitors will also play a three-day practice game against Mumbai at the Ferozeshah Kotla in New Delhi from September 16 to 18.

With quite a few talented youngsters like Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey and Karun Nair waiting in the wings, the selectors were expected to take a call on Sharma’s participation and have now decided to give him another chance.

Although Cheteshwar Pujara was dropped from the playing eleven for the final test of the West Indies series, he has since answered any doubts that may have been in the selector’s mind with his 256-run-stand for India Blue in the Duleep Trophy final.

The full 15-member are Virat Kohli(Capt), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav.

For latest hindi news, click here