Neema Bhagat set to be east Delhi mayor today


BJP councilor Neema Bhagat is set to be chosen as the leader of East Delhi today, after the decision party won the mayoral post unopposed in north and south organizations a week ago.

The group of the recently chose East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) will likewise assume responsibility today.

BJP’s Patparganj councilor Bipin Bihari Singh will progress toward becoming deputy mayor in EDMC.

Mr Bhagat, who speaks to Geeta Colony ward, had vanquished her AAP rival Pooja Chhabra by an edge of 2,869 votes in the high-stakes MCD polls hung on April 23.

A year ago, BJP’s Satya Sharma, councilor from New Usmanpur, had trounced Congress match Taj Mohammed for the post of leader of east Delhi.

The saffron party has handled its councilors Pravesh Sharma, Mr Santosh, Satpal Singh, Kiran and Kanchan Maheswari for the posts of individuals from the EDMC’s standing advisory group, while AAP’s Rekha Tyagi is in shred for the same.

On May 18 and May 19, BJP’s Preety Agarwal and Kamaljeet Sehrawat were chosen unopposed for the post of chairman in the North Delhi Municipal Corporation and the South Delhi Municipal Corporation, individually.

After the decision, the BJP, which had cleared the civic polls, will have its mayors and deputy mayors in all the three civic bodies.

BJP had stowed 181 of the 270 wards in the surveys. In the 64-part EDMC House, the BJP has 47 councilors, AAP 11, Congress three and BSP two.

Elections in two wards were put off because of the demise of candidates.

EDMC’s Maujpur ward went to polls on May 14, while surveying in NDMC’s Sarai Pipal ward was held today. Results about for both wards would be pronounced on May 23.