NCP Leader Nimbalkar re-elected as Maharashtra Council Chairman


At one day special session of the House, Senior NCP Leader Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar was re-chosen as the Chairman of Maharashtra Legislative Council.

The formalities of his election were finished in the special sitting to empower him conduct business of the Upper House amid the Monsoon Session of the governing body starting July 18.

The recently chosen individuals from the Council also took vow.

The post of officer to Nimbalkar’s was a mere formality as he has the support of Congress too. 

Nimbalkar was re elected to the Upper House  unopposed a month ago.

He was administered oath of office by Pro-tem Chairman Jayant Patil of Peasants and Workers Party. 

The post of Deputy Chairman of the House is lying empty after Vasant Davkare of NCP lost election Council, for which election was not held.

Congress has asserted its privilege on the Deputy Chairman's post.

NCP sources said, “ Sharad Pawar-led party has agreed to let Congress have that post.”

When leaders were taking oath, Shivsangram leader and president of Shivaji Memorial Project Committee, Vinayak Mete, was not present in the House. 

A month ago, an alliance partner of BJP, Mete was elected to the Council from the BJP quota.  Mete, holds minister-level rank as chairman of the committee and he had not taken oath as he was unhappy over not being included in the Fadnavis ministry. 

NCP has officially reported that Dhananjay Munde will keep on being Leader of Opposition in the Council.