Kashmir Violence: Curfew continues in Kashmir as death toll reached to 54


The curfew has been imposed in many parts of the Kashmir due to the violence that is going on in the valley. Nearly three persons have been dead and many others are wounded.

“Curfew remains in force in six police station areas of Srinagar — Nowhatta, Khanyar, Rainawari, Safakadal, Maharajgunj and Batamaloo — as a precautionary measure to maintain law and order,” a police official said.

He further added that, “Curfew was also in force in four towns of Budgam district — Chadoora, Khansahib, Magam and Budgam , Anantnag town and Khanpora area of Baramulla district.”

“Restrictions on assembly of four or more people continue to remain in effect in rest of the Valley,” the official said. 

Since the killing of Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani , the clashes in the valley between protesters and security forces is regularly taking place. The death tolls have reached to 54 while 6,000 people badly injured.

Due to the curbs imposed by the authorities, people are facing many problems. Schools, colleges, business establishments, petrol pumps banks and private offices had been closed from past 29 days.

The separatist camp will remain shutdown in the valley till August 12.