Jayalalithaa to be sworn in as Chief Minister today with 28 Cabinet Ministers


Chennai: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) chief J. Jayalalithaa will take the oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on Monday. It is her second consecutive term as the chief minister. 28 cabinet ministers will take oath with Jayalalithaa.

This is for the first time since the death of former chief minister MG Ramachandra Menon, who is popularly known as MGR, in 1987 that a party will return to power for a consecutive second term in Tamil Nadu.

The swearing-in ceremony will be held at the Centenary Auditorium at the Madras University. Tamil Nadu Governor K Rosaiah will administer the oath of office to the Chief Minister and 28 members of the cabinet.

Union Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu will be attending the ceremony on behalf of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Central Government.

Security has been tightened in and around the university and large LED TV screens and loud speakers have been placed at Kamarajar salai for the public to witness the function.