Jamaica Tallawahs crush Guyana Amazon Warriors by 9 wickets to win CPL 2016


A brilliant bowling performance from the Jamaica Tallawahs saw them dismiss the Amazon Warriors for 93 in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) final to secure their second title, the first team to do so. 

A one-sided final at the end of a 40-day long season of T20 cricket, gave Jamaica Tallawahs their second CPL trophy. They had won the inaugural season as well. Guyana Amazon Warriors were all out for just 93, after being put into bat by Gayle. A combined bowling effort from the Tallawahs’ seamers and the spinners, Imad Wasim and Shakib-al-Hasan who shared five wickets between them, had done the damage for the Warriors. Gayle then with a half-century, made sure the target was reached easily.

Only three batsmen got to double figures for the ‘Warriors. They were reduced to 9-2 in 2.1 overs. And just when they could have started to accelerate, they lost Dwayne Smith and Jason Mohammed in quick succession. The lower-order could not contribute either and it meant that the ‘Warriors ultimately fell short of runs in the final. Sohail Tanvir top scored for his side with 42 off 37 balls. All the bowlers took atleast a wickets for the ‘Tallawahs.

In reply, Chadwick Walton and Gayle took Tallawahs off to a flyer. Gayle’s innings of 54 off just 27 balls, with 3 fours and 6 sixes, took the heat out of the game. When he departed the ‘Tallawahs already had 79 runs on the board. Kumar Sangakkara then came out to bat, scored 12 runs, and hit the winning runs to give Jamaica Tallawahs an easy win.

Imad Wasim was chosen as the Man of the Match for his figures of 3-21. Kesrick Williams won the award for the best catch of the season. Gayle was awarded the prize for hitting the most number of sixes in the CPL season and Andre Russell picked up the Man of the Series award.