IIT Amendment Bill 2016 passed by Rajya Sabha


The Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill 2016 has been approved by Rajya Sabha by voice note on Tuesday. The announcement revealed that Jammu and Tirupati will get new IITs.

Official notification released by Annamalai University for M.Phil and PHD programmes

Key notes from the debate on bill:

  1. Campuses of IIT’s will be set up in Palakkad (Kerala), Goa, Dharward (Karnataka) and Bhilai (Chhattisgarh)
  2. The bill was also passed on July 25 by Lok Sabha which also seeks to bring the Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad, within the ambit of the proposed Act
  3. Last year, the Union Cabinet gave a permission to six new IITs on December 2 with Prime Minister Narendra Modi also giving approval for making these IITs operational.
  4. Human Resource Development (HRD) Minister Prakash Javadekar said the IITs are the centre of excellence and they will continue to remain like that
  5. Prakash Javadekar said there would not be any financial constraints for growth of IIT

"We will not allow anything that will lower their standards. Actually we all should try to improve them further and make them really world class institutes. Therefore quality is absolutely important," Prakash Javadekar added.

Further, Prakash Javadekar said, "MHRD is not even represented on Board of Governors. It is completely run by the Board. We only facilitate in finance and that is where we will concentrate,"

Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University: Results of Bachelors degree exam 2016 out

The reports revealed that the government is already working on a scheme for financing higher education infrastructure needs, particularly research infrastructure requirements.